Naruto: Shippuden Filler List – Which Episodes To Skip

Like any long-running anime Naruto: Shippuden has many filler episodes. Here’s which episodes can be skipped without missing anything vital.

Here’s a complete Naruto: Shippuden filler list featuring every episode of the anime series viewers can safely skip over without missing anything vital. Masashi Kishimoto’s epic manga series Naruto began in 1999 and ended 15 years later after racking up 700 chapters. The manga follows the adventures of titular protagonist Naruto Uzumaki – a young orphan who dreams of becoming the Hokage (i.e. leader and strongest ninja) of his village, Konoha. To that end, Naruto enrolls at Konoha’s Ninja Academy where he trains to become a shinobi dedicated to protecting his village from outside threats.


Kishimoto’s manga was adapted for the small screen by anime production company Studio Pierrot starting in the early 2000s. The first Naruto anime series adapted Part I of the manga and aired between 2002 and 2007, producing over 200 episodes. Naruto: Shippuden adapted Part II of Kishimoto’s manga and ran for a decade between 2007 and 2017, picking up with a 15-year-old Naruto Uzumaki returning to Konoha Village after two-and-a-half years’ training on the road.

Related: Naruto: What Does ‘Shippuden’ Actually Mean?

Naruto: Shippuden ran for a total of 21 seasons and 500 episodes. Like many long-running anime shows, however, it has its share of filler episodes that don’t add much to the overall plot. Luckily, Redditor and anime super-fan u/EmperorPHNX compiled a comprehensive list of every filler episode of the anime that viewers can pass over without missing any key story beats. Read on for the full Naruto: Shippuden filler list, according to u/EmperorPHNX.

  • “Beasts: Alive Again!” (Ep. 28)
  • “Big Adventure! The Quest for the Fourth Hokage’s Legacy – Part 1” (Ep. 170)
  • “Big Adventure! The Quest for the Fourth Hokage’s Legacy – Part 2” (Ep. 171)
  • “The Young Man and the Sea” (Ep. 223)
  • “The Ninja of Benisu” (Ep. 224)
  • “The Cursed Ghost Ship” (Ep. 225)
  • “Battleship Island” (Ep. 226)
  • “The Forgotten Island” (Ep. 227)
  • “Fight! Rock Lee!” (Ep. 228)
  • “Eat or Die! Mushrooms from Hell!” (Ep. 229)
  • “Revenge of the Shadow Clones” (Ep. 230)
  • “The Closed Route” (Ep. 231)
  • “The Girls’ Get-Together” (Ep. 232)
  • “Naruto’s Imposter” (Ep. 233)
  • “Naruto’s Favorite Pupil” (Ep. 234)
  • “The Kunoichi of Nadeshiko Village” (Ep. 235)
  • “Friends You Can Count On” (Ep. 236)
  • “Ah, My Hero Lady Tsunade!” (Ep. 237)
  • “Sai’s Day Off” (Ep. 238)
  • “The Legendary Ino-Shika-Cho” (Ep. 239)
  • “Kiba’s Determination” (Ep. 240)
  • “Kakashi, My Eternal Rival!” (Ep. 241)
  • “Naruto’s Vow” (Ep. 242)
  • “Meeting” (Ep. 257)
  • “Rivals” (Ep. 258)
  • “Rift” (Ep. 259)
  • “Parting” (Ep. 260)
  • “Road to Sakura” (Ep. 271)
  • “White Zetsu’s Trap” (Ep. 279)
  • “Aesthetics of an Artist” (Ep. 280)
  • “The Allied Mom Force!!” (Ep. 281)
  • “The Directive to Take the Nine-Tails!” (Ep. 376)
  • “Naruto vs. Mecha Naruto” (Ep. 377)
  • “The Formation of Team Minato” (Ep. 416)
  • “The Ones Who Will Inherit” (Ep. 422)
  • “Naruto’s Rival” (Ep. 423)
  • “To the Dream World” (Ep. 427)
  • “Where Tenten Belongs” (Ep. 428)
  • “Killer Bee Rappuden – Part 1” (Ep. 429)
  • “Killer Bee Rappuden – Part 2” (Ep. 430)
  • “To See That Smile, Just One More Time” (Ep. 431)
  • “The Loser Ninja” (Ep. 432)
  • “The Search Mission” (Ep. 433)
  • “Team Jiraiya” (Ep. 434)
  • “Order of Priority” (Ep. 435)
  • “The Masked Man” (Ep. 436)
  • “The Sealed Power” (Ep. 437)
  • “The Rules or a Comrade” (Ep. 438)
  • “The Child of Prophecy” (Ep. 439)
  • “The Caged Bird” (Ep. 440)
  • “Returning Home” (Ep. 441)
  • “The Mutual Path” (Ep. 442)
  • “The Difference in Power” (Ep. 443)
  • “Leaving the Village” (Ep. 444)
  • “Pursuers” (Ep. 445)
  • “Collision” (Ep. 446)
  • “Another Moon” (Ep. 447)
  • “Comrade” (Ep. 448)
  • “The Shinobi Unite” (Ep. 449)
  • “Rival” (Ep. 450)
  • “Naruto and Hinata” (Ep. 480)
  • “Sasuke and Sakura” (Ep. 481)
  • “Gaara and Shikamaru” (Ep. 482)
  • “Jiraiya and Kakashi” (Ep. 483)

According to u/EmperorPHNX’s list, only 64 of Naruto: Shippuden’s 500 episodes are filler which is a good ratio for any long-running anime series. The list also reveals viewers can safely skip over the vast majority of Shippuden season 11 which is also known as the “Paradise Life On A Boat” arc and is one of the series’ most disliked arcs. A big chunk of season 20 (episodes 427-450) also feature on the Naruto: Shippuden filler list and encompasses another unpopular filler arc from the show.

Handily, u/EmperorPHNX’s Naruto: Shippuden filler list also features a selection of episodes that are considered skippable but are still enjoyable and/or add a little more to the overall plot than the average anime filler outing. For example, episodes 57 to 71 and episodes 144 to 151 of Naruto: Shippuden are considered filler according to sites like Anime Filler List but still provide viewers with important information pertaining to the show’s overarching backstory.

Next: Why The Boruto: Naruto Next Generations Anime Is Mostly Filler

Leave a Comment